JDK installation in Redhat Linux

I had OpenJDK installed in my Redhat Linux. That openJDK was 1.6, i wanted to install jdk 1.7 from http://www.oracle.com/technetwork/es/java/javase/downloads/jdk7-downloads-1880260.html

So at first I had to uninstall OpenJDK. So,

yum remove java-1.6.0-openjdk.x86_64

Then I downloaded jdk-7u79-linux-x64.rpm from the above oracle.com link.

I copied the rpm to /usr/java and issued command as root

rpm -ivh jdk-7u79-linux-x64.rpm

after installation I issued

java -version

To check the installation.

The result. hmmmm….

java version “1.7.0_79”
Java(TM) SE Runtime Environment (build 1.7.0_79-b15)
Java HotSpot(TM) 64-Bit Server VM (build 24.79-b02, mixed mode)

Looks like we are cool.

Leave a Reply

