Postgresql 9.5 and Red Hat Enterprise Linux 7.0

I used to use Postgresql 9.5 with Red Hat Enterprise Linux 6.6.

As quite a long time passed using them, I had change my server configuration. So, I tried to start using Postgresql 9.5 and Red Hat Enterprise Linux 7.0 . When started installing them, I found out that these completely new command set.  Here it goes,

wget https://download.postgresql.org/pub/repos/yum/9.5/redhat/rhel-7-x86_64/pgdg-redhat95-9.5-3.noarch.rpm
rpm -ivh pgdg-redhat95-9.5-3.noarch.rpm
yum install postgresql95-server.x86_64

Now initdb part. I couldn’t find how to change default DB path. So, it installed in the default path.

/usr/pgsql-9.5/bin/postgresql95-setup initdb

For start

systemctl start postgresql-9.5.service

For stop

systemctl stop postgresql-9.5.service

I added my workstation’s permission, so that I can connect.

nano /var/lib/pgsql/9.5/data/pg_hba.conf

And fixed listening addresses and ports.

 nano /var/lib/pgsql/9.5/data/postgresql.conf

and restart the server again.

Still couldn’t connect from my workstation. So,

firewall-cmd –zone=public –add-port=5432/tcp –permanent

firewall-cmd –reload

Now, i think all is well 🙂

Leave a Reply

